The Cost of Camp

As we discussed in our blog about paying for camp, we know camp is a substantial cost to most families. Today, we’d like to explain some of the cost and let you know why it’s worth the money.

The Cost

Some early birds were able to get it for $525 and families who registered at the end of the last summer got a great deal at $475, but the real cost of camp – $550 – is here to stay. You may have seen some camps cost less, but there are many camps out there who charge much more. We try our best to stay affordable.

Why does camp cost so much? Great question! We can’t speak for every camp out there, but our camp costs what it does because we provide quality in every aspect of camp. We have quality facilities, quality food, quality staff, and quality activities. If we lowered the price of camp, we’d also have to lower the quality of our facilities, food, staff, activities, or, depending on the price reduction, a combination of these things. We won’t do that. Our campers deserve better.

More than half the cost of camp goes toward camper food and facilities, and nearly another fourth goes toward staff salaries (not including year-round staff!). That leaves just around twenty-five percent of the cost of camp ($137.50) to cover staff food and facilities, activities supplies, lifeguard and ropes course certifications, registration software, and more.

Even at $550, we couldn’t cover our costs without the financial support of the Diocese. They believe so fully in the power of camp that they subsidize camp in order to keep it affordable for our families. $550 may seem like a lot, but for the incredible quality we provide, it’s an absolute steal!

The Benefit

At $550, is camp worth it? Absolutely. No question. Here’s why.

Have you heard the expression “it takes a village to raise a child?” Camp is an important part of that village. There are experiences had and lessons learned at camp that, with the business of school and everyday life, kids often miss. Camp slows things down and puts them in perspective.

When I (Allison) tell people about the lessons I’ve learned during my 20-something years at camp, one story sticks out in my mind. As a nine-year-old camper a group of girls in my cabin, me included, got into an argument with another girl in our cabin. We said some not so nice things, and we stopped talking to her. A few hours later, she fell off our cabin steps, hit her head, and went to the hospital. At nine years old, the situation was catastrophic to me. I felt awful – I was so sorry that the last words I said to her were mean words. Though the girl was fine, I learned to speak more kindly and to not walk away mad.

Sure, I could’ve learned that lesson at another point in my life, but the isolation and intensity of summer camp drive lessons like those home. In my everyday life, I could’ve turned to my TV, a game, or something else to distract me from the problem. At camp, there was just camp. So I faced the problem and I learned.

The same is true for so many other lessons at camp. We provide a safe environment for campers to try things and fail, and we provide wonderful staff members to work through problems with campers. By the end of the week, campers are more independent, more resilient, and more understanding. They may just remember camp for the friends they made and the games they played, but one day, like me, they’ll look back and realize there was so much more.

So is camp a substantial cost? Yes. But is it worth it? Every penny. If you’re still not convinced, reach out to me at allison@campweed.org or 386-364-6021 so we can talk.

Can’t wait to see you and your camper this summer!

 

Leave a comment